Character migration

Standard

Words seem to be behaving again. I managed to get all my articles finished last week. I’d love to get on with another novel, but I know once I get started I won’t want to write anything else until it’s finished, and I need to get on with some more non-fiction stuff for a while.

I’m a great believer in letting things bubble away at the back of my mind. So that’s where I’ve consigned ideas for fiction right now. There’s only one problem. Characters seem to be migrating from one plot to another. This isn’t very helpful of them. Maybe they feel neglected, pinned in their half-formed stories, waiting to be called into the light of day and the reality of the printed word. It could be that they’re lonely. Most of them have to exist in isolation, until I dream up friends or enemies for them to play with.

I’m sure there’s a story in there somewhere….

About Alexa

I have just started writing again after a break of some years. I write mostly non-fiction, although I love story writing. My first Steampunk novel has been sent into the big wide world to make its fortune (or not). I hate mowing lawns, love growing flowers, and spend a fair bit of time shifting mole-hill detritus from the lawn to the flower borders. I have a degree in English Literature and Theology, and a passion for science that I wish I'd discovered when I was young enough to choose it as a career path. I have two sites on Wordpress. 'Born-again sceptic' - my personal views on the science/religion debate, and 'Writing and other stuff' an eclectic mix of things that interest me ( the title says it all).

Leave a Reply

