Whitby Goth Weekend

Standard

We picked the right day to go to WGW. Apart from a light drizzle just as we arrived, the day stayed fine, if cool. We braved the bracing east wind to sit outside cafes watching the endless parade of Goths, Steampunks and other characters that defied any classification.

I am in awe of the skill, imagination and sheer wackiness that goes in to the creation of some of the costumes. They range from full Victorian costumes, with hoops and bustles to Steampunks in glorious brass accoutrements, with the odd Viking warrior and a fair interpretation of Loki. Some were truly scary, like the hooded woman in grey, with a demon’s mask.

I always come away fromWGW with my faith in the creativity of the individual renewed. In a generation that seems largely to favour grey and black clothes in a limited range of styles, the panoply of colour and styles in Whitby is a feast for the eyes and a declaration that individual style is alive and kicking. No-one does black like a Goth.

Whitby Abbey looked suitably Gothic on the cliff top, under grey skies. I wonder what Bram Stoker would have made of it all?

About Alexa

I have just started writing again after a break of some years. I write mostly non-fiction, although I love story writing. My first Steampunk novel has been sent into the big wide world to make its fortune (or not). I hate mowing lawns, love growing flowers, and spend a fair bit of time shifting mole-hill detritus from the lawn to the flower borders. I have a degree in English Literature and Theology, and a passion for science that I wish I'd discovered when I was young enough to choose it as a career path. I have two sites on Wordpress. 'Born-again sceptic' - my personal views on the science/religion debate, and 'Writing and other stuff' an eclectic mix of things that interest me ( the title says it all).

Leave a Reply

